logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
dbr8kr  
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 10:17:11 AM(UTC)
dbr8kr

Groups: Registered

Hello!

I have a cheating program that checks my hardware id. This binds me into using the software on only one computer. I know that the program could be using the hardware ID as a combination of numbers from my video card, hard-drive etc... , but I would like to be able to see what the program is asking for and how it combines these numbers, Then spoof the program into reading this information differently.

I'm interested on how to accomplish this task rather than using the software. I don't think this should be too difficult using tools. I have some Visual Basic Experience, I am able to read my hardware ID's using tools, I've used a debugger for my Visual Basic Projects. Am I over my head here? Do I need to go back to school? lol

Some insight will be greatly appreciated, Thanks.

dbr8kr
Sponsor

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

civan2  
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2012 2:54:12 PM(UTC)
civan2

Was thanked: 34 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Hmm, if I had to do a metaphor of your question in medicine terms it would be - "My uncle taught me how to castrate billy goats once, can you show me open heart surgery now?".

I can tell from your post that you didn't spend a lot of time on MSDN, so getting the absolute basics like windows APIs will be a good start. After that you just hook up an api monitor and select the interesting calls.

On the last one I would say yes, output of any serious debugging tool needs more skill than being able to compile a VB app. Once you know the difference between stdcall and cdecl then you will have some grasp of the basics.
Good at pvp. I enjoy pvz and pvt too.
thanks 1 user thanked civan2 for this useful post.
dbr8kr on 12/20/2012(UTC)